Summit Provider

Locations

Summit Women's Group - Chambersburg

12 St. Paul Dr. Suite 207
Chambersburg, PA 17201
Phone:(717) 217-6882
Fax:(717) 217-6883

Summit Women's Group - Chambersburg

214 Peach Orchard Road
McConnellsburg, PA 17233
Phone:(717) 485-6125
Fax:(717) 485-6106

Specialties

Education

Certifications: 
American Midwifery Certification Board

Language

Bio

Q: What led you to work as a CNM?

Answer: I had originally studied to be an elementary school teacher.  During my last semester, I was student teaching, and pregnant with my first child.   I experienced a "high risk" pregnancy, and the entire process was terrifying.  I felt like my questions weren't being answered, I felt scared and uninformed, and decided I wanted to make a career change, so I could help other women in that position.  I went back to school, earning my undergraduate degrees from Pennsylvania State University and Chamberlain College of Nursing.  I went on to graduate with Presidential Honors as a member of Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society from Shenandoah University with a Master's of Science in Nursing with a specialty in nurse midwifery.  Also, my great-grandmother was a lay-midwife, and I drew inspiration from that.

Q: What drew you to begin practicing in the Franklin County area?

Answer:  I grew up in Mercersburg and worked at Chambersburg Hospital as a Labor and Delivery nurse for eight years before moving to Georgia for a job opportunity.  Eventually, I wanted to return home, to be closer to family and friends.

Q: What would you say is a common misconception about midwifery?

Answer: I would say people assume that we only deliver babies at home, where I only deliver babies in a hospital.  Also, some people think midwives only help with delivery, whereas I do full-scope OB/GYN care, well-women visits, etc.

Q: What are you most looking forward to about working in Franklin County?

Answer:  I'm most looking forward to being closer to my friends and family and to help expand the community's knowledge about midwives.

Q: What hobbies or interests do you enjoy outside of your career?

Answer:  I enjoy spending time with my family, my husband and my four children, riding horses, gardening, chicken-keeping, cooking, and being outdoors on my farmette.